Meet Your Neighbors: Karin Leimbach

0 570
0

Meet Karin Leimbach! She’s a Prevention Coordinator for DCCCA, a Partnerships for Success Contractor based in Oklahoma County.

Read on to find out more about Karin, including her connection to Harry Potter and why she’s still a country girl at heart.

Q&A

Q: Everyone has a story to tell! What have you done in the past (work, life, education)?

A: I graduated with a Bachelor’s of Science in Human Development and Family Science from Oklahoma State University in December 2014. I immediately took a position as an Oklahoma Extension 4-H/Youth Development Educator in Cleveland County. I have always loved working with community members and youth from my days of being a 4-Her and FFA member in my hometown of El Reno, OK.

Q: What are you working on now?

A: I am currently a prevention coordinator at DCCCA, pursuing a Master’s in Public Health, and becoming a Certified Prevention Specialist. The community coalition I work with is very new, we started in August 2016. I am enjoying being a part of a new group and learning about the coalition members and watching them grow this coalition and making a difference in our community.

Q: What are your favorite ways to use OK In the Know?

A: I love using OK In The Know to connect with other people. I don’t know about you guys, but my e-mails get so bogged down that it can be hard to try and go through it to find that one data sheet or that one resource someone sent me. I like being able to go to OK In The Know and it’s all in one place.

Ask her about….

You can ask me anything about the Prescription Drug Epidemic in Oklahoma and the US since this is my main focus at work! You can also ask me about leadership and wellness – i.e. nutrition, exercise, yoga for kids.

Fun facts

One of my grandfathers was the original Harry Potter! Yes, the news interviewed him constantly because he even had a scar on his forehead, but the story behind that was much different than the wizard’s. My other grandpa is a World War II vet (93 years old!) and he was one of the first people in our family to be born in America. He has taught me some German phrases, which I loved to speak as a child, and my parents and sisters had no idea what I said.

I showed sheep for 9 years which helped put me through college. I’m still a country girl even if I don’t live out there anymore. I have two goats that live at my parents’ house because for some reason I’m not allowed to have them in my apartment.

Get connected!

To connect with Karin, check out her profile on OK In The Know, send her a friend request, or visit the Forum to ask her a question!

NO COMMENTS

Leave a Reply